30th Historic Vltava Rally attracts 46 entries

30th Historic Vltava Rally attracts 46 entries

Round 2 of the 2022 FIA European Historic Rally Championship will be held in the Czech Republic, with the 30th Historic Vltava Rally being the host event on the 5th to 8th May.  Forty-six entries have been received by the organisers, with thirty-six competitors eligible for championship points.

All of the Category winners from the opening round in Spain will be competing in the Czech Republic, including the overall winner of the 70th Rally Motul Costa Brava, Pascal Peroud (BMW M3 E30).

Category 4 will see 15 entries, with 14 FIA EHRC full season entries.  Reigning Category 2 Champion Vojtech Stajf will be making his Category 4 debut on his home event, the Czech driver competing in a Toyota Celica GT Four ST165 alongside new co-driver Frantisek Rajnoha.  

The Category 4 entry includes BMW M3 (3 entries), Ford Sierra RS Cosworth (3), Lancia Rally 037 (1), Mitsubishi Starion (1), Opel Manta (1) Renault R11 (1), Skoda Favorit (2), Subaru Legacy (1) and Toyota Celica (2).

Category 3 will feature 13 entries, including 8 full season entries, with Round 1 winner, and reigning champion, ‘Zippo’ competing in the Audi quattro.  The Italian will be joined by reigning Category 3 Co Drivers’ champion Denis Piceno for the first time this season.  2019 Champions Karl Wagner and Gerda Zauner are entered for the Historic Vltava Rally in the Porsche 911 SC.  The Austrians will be hoping to resume their close battle with the Audi at the last Historic Vltava Rally.

The Category 3 entry includes Audi (1 entry), Fiat (2), Ford (1), Lada (1), Porsche (6), Volvo (1), VW (1).

Category 2 will feature 10 entries, including 6 full season competitors who are eligible for championship points.  Round 1 winners Carlo Mylle and Olivier Laporte will be competing in the Porsche Carrera RSR and going head-to-head once again with their rivals in Spain, Marty McCormack and Barney Mitchell in the Ford Escort RS1800 and Paolo Pasutti and Giovanni Campeis in the Porsche 911 RS.

The Category 2 entry includes BMW (1 entry), Ford (2), Lada (1), Opel (1), Porsche (2), Skoda (1), Triumph (1), VW (1).

Category 1 features 8 entries, all of which are eligible for FIA EHRC Championship points.  Round 1 winners Ernie and Karen Graham are competing in their Ford Escort Twin Cam, with championship leaders Antonio Parisi and Giuseppe D’Angelo hoping to take another winners trophy back to Italy in their Porsche 911S.

The Category 1 entry includes Alfa Romeo (1 entry), BMW (2), Ford (2), Porsche (1), Skoda (1) and Volvo (1).

The 30th Historic Vltava Rally begins with scrutineering on Thursday 5th May, with Leg 1 on Friday 6th and Leg 2 on Saturday 7th May.